[learn_more caption = “Universities and College in Huron County


Nearby colleges and universities offer post-secondary learning within Huron County. A good education–an important component and boost to any career–provides many opportunities. Financial assistance may be available at the college or university you choose to attend and the Government of Canada offers sponsorship and funding programs.

Universities and Community Colleges:


The following three colleges, within driving distance of Huron County, offer both in-person and online courses.

Conestoga College (Kitchener): Established in 1967, Conestoga has become a leading polytechnic institute, providing a wide variety of education and training programs,  from upgrading through to four-year degrees. Conestoga offers more than 120 full-time diploma programs, 26 apprenticeship programs, 9 four-year bachelor degree programs as well as 2 collaborative degrees, 23 graduate certificate programs and more than 130 part-time programs. Conestoga has campuses in Kitchener, Waterloo, Guelph, Stratford, Cambridge, Brantford and Ingersoll.

Fanshawe College (London): Fanshawe College (Huron/Bruce Regional Sites): Fanshawe College is here to serve the community. We offer the programming you want, close to home.

For Fanshawe Locations – click here

Fanshawe College is a community college with six campuses in Southwestern Ontario. Fanshawe provides training in applied arts, business, health care, human services, hospitality, literacy, academic upgrading, life skills, computers, technology, apprenticeship and English as a Second Language. As well, Fanshawe College, in partnership with the Regional Equine and Agricultural Centre of Huron (REACH), offers in-class, post-secondary certificate programs delivered in Clinton at REACH’s educational facilities.

Fanshawe has been in the Central Huron area, north of London, since approximately 2007 and has seen tremendous growth during that time. Welcoming full-time, part-time and dual-credit students in a number of diploma programs, certificates and community-interest courses, Fanshawe is proud to be a contributor to the economic growth and sustainability of the region. For any program inquiries please contact clinton@fanshawec.ca.

Georgian College:  Georgian College offers more than 100 programs taught in any of their seven campuses. Academic upgrading, apprenticeship, diploma, college degree, university degree or graduate studies – are all available at Georgian.

The Emergency Services Training Centre (ESTC) in Blyth is now providing a five-week training program to Georgian College’s Marine Engineering and Navigation Cadets. The training will bring in new equipment which will simulate emergencies on a ship with limited resources available, compared to emergencies on the ground.


Huron County residents have the option of in-class or online university-level courses and can pursue degree studies in a wide range of academic disciplines.

University of Guelph (Guelph): Ranked as one of Canada’s top universities, the University of Guelph offers a wide variety of academic programs ranging from undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate degrees to diploma and certificate programs. They also offer courses for those seeking to upgrade their skills or develop their interests. The University of Guelph, Ridgetown campus offers a Performance Horse Handler Certificate program delivered at the Regional Equine and Agricultural Centre of Huron (REACH) in Clinton.

University of Waterloo (Waterloo): The University of Waterloo is one of Canada’s leading comprehensive universities with 34,000 full- and part-time students in undergraduate and graduate programs. Waterloo, home to the world’s largest post-secondary co-operative education program, embraces its connections to the world and encourages enterprising partnerships in learning, research and discovery.

University of Western Ontario (London): The University of Western Ontario is one of the oldest universities in Canada. Since the first graduating class in 1883, the university has become a vibrant centre of learning with more than 1,400 faculty members and approximately 35,000 students. With 12 Faculties and Schools and three Affiliated University Colleges, Western offers more than 400 different specializations, majors and minors at the undergraduate level.

Wilfrid Laurier University (Waterloo): With more than 17,000 undergraduate and graduate students, Laurier has campuses in Waterloo and Brantford, as well as locations in Kitchener, Toronto and Chongqing, China. Laurier’s Waterloo campus offers a broad range of full- and part-time graduate and undergraduate degree programs through seven faculties: Arts, Music, Science, Education, Social Work, Graduate Studies and the School of Business and Economics. Laurier’s Brantford campus is dedicated to innovative programming within the liberal arts.