In Huron County, there are 4 levels of government and each level has different responsibilities:

Municipal (local) government

Huron County has an upper tier (county) and lower tier (municipalities) arrangement of government. The upper tier is responsible for land use planning, emergency services, and county road maintenance. The lower tier is responsible for parks and recreation programming, waste and recycling programs, and municipal road maintenance.

Huron County is governed by a County Council, which is made up of sixteen members from nine area municipalities. Committees of councillors discuss budget, service and administrative issues that are then passed on to the council for debate. Citizens, business owners and community groups can present their concerns to councillors at committee meetings. The Council works with residents, municipal employees and other committees, agencies and boards to manage the county and are responsible for a wide range of municipal services.

Townships and municipalities:

Municipal elections

Municipal government elections are held every four years in October. Residents of the municipality elect the mayor and council members to lead the local government. Each municipality located within Huron County is represented at County Council by their elected representatives: Mayors or Reeves, Deputy Mayors and Deputy Reeves, along with additional Councillor Representatives, as determined by eligible voters. Unlike provincial or federal elections, candidates are not elected to represent a certain political party.

For more information on local government, check out…

Provincial government

Ontario is governed by elected representatives called Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs). The political party that has the largest number of MPPs forms the government, and its leader becomes premier. The premier is the head of government in Ontario. The premier leads the government and chooses MPPs to serve as ministers in the cabinet. The cabinet sets government policy and introduces laws for the Legislative Assembly to consider. The Lieutenant Governor represents the Queen.

Provincial elections

Ontario holds a general election every 4 years. An election is the process of choosing a representative by vote. There are three major political parties in Ontario: Liberal, New Democratic, and Conservative. There are 107 seats in Ontario’s parliament (one for each riding). During an election campaign, normally all major parties run candidates in each electoral districts, ridings or constituencies. Independent candidates can also run. The candidate getting the most votes becomes a Member of Provincial Parliament (MPP), and represents the riding’s residents in the Legislative Assembly (House). After a general election, the Lieutenant Governor asks the leader of the party with the most support in the Legislative Assembly to become Premier and form a government.

Currently, Lisa Thompson is MPP for the riding of Huron Bruce.

For more information on provincial government, check out…

Federal Government

Canada is a democratic, constitutional monarchy, with a sovereign as head of state and an elected prime minister as head of government. Canada’s head of state is Queen Elizabeth II. The Governor General carries out the duties of the head of state, acting as the Queen’s representative in Canada. Canada has a federal system of parliamentary government as government responsibilities and functions are shared between federal, provincial, and territorial governments.

Canadians are governed by elected representatives to the House of Commons. These representatives are called Members of Parliament (MPs) and usually belong to a political party. The political party that has the largest number of MPs forms the government, and its leader becomes prime minister. The prime minister is the head of government in Canada and chooses MPs to serve as ministers in the cabinet. The cabinet makes important decisions about government policy. The Senate reviews laws that are put forward by the House of Commons; senators are chosen for their posts by the prime minister.

Federal elections

In a federal general election, the voters in each riding or constituency elect a representative to the House of Commons. In Canada, the person who gets the most votes is elected. There are three major political parties in Ontario: Liberal, New Democratic, and Conservative. The party which has the most members elected forms the Government. According to the Constitution, the maximum duration of a Parliament is five years. However, the government can call an election at any time, and usually do after three or four years. Federal elections in Canada are administered by Elections Canada.

Currently, Ben Lobb is MP for the riding of Huron Bruce.

For more information on the federal government, check out…